Know before you go! Check out our Wait Times and Webcams.
Driver Point System
To promote driving safety, the District of Columbia uses a point system, for moving violations, to warn drivers who are at risk of having their licenses suspended or revoked. The DMV wants to encourage drivers to be aware of their records and how points affect driving privileges. Points are not assessed for parking and photo tickets. For moving violations received out-of-state, DC DMV assesses points according to the point system for the same or similar violation in the District. Therefore, a Virginia two point moving violation may be assessed six points in the District based on our point system. Also, points can only be assessed on your driver record in your home jurisdiction because you do not actually have a driver record in the out-of-state jurisdiction (unless you previously were licensed in this jurisdiction).
How Long Points Stay on Your Record
Points will stay on a DC driving record for two years.
Get Points for Moving Violation Removed
If you have received a moving violation in Washington, DC, then you may be eligible to attend a DC DMV approved online defensive driving course to have the points removed from your driving record. The online course can be accessed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for your convenience. Prior approval from a DC Department of Motor Vehicles' Hearing Examiner is required before taking the course to have points removed.
You must contest the ticket by adjudicating by mail or in person in order to receive approval for traffic school from a hearing examiner. In your adjudication request, you must specifically request that the points be waived for the ticket. Note that approval for traffic school is discretionary. The hearing examiner will consider your driver record and the seriousness of the violation in deciding whether to approve you for the course. If you are approved, the hearing examiner's decision on the ticket will reflect "Liable Traffic School Approved." You will be required to pay the ticket fine. Once you complete traffic school, the violation will appear on your driver record, but the points will not appear.
Once approved by a DC DMV hearing examiner, you have 15 calendar days from the hearing decision to pay the ticket violation. You must successfully complete the course 30 calendar days from the hearing decision to qualify for a removal of points. The course provider will inform DMV that you passed the course, which will allow you to "Skip the Trip" to DMV to submit your course certificate. DMV will notify you that we have received your course certification and that your points have been removed.
This course may also be taken to avoid insurance premium increases or to refresh and enhance your driving knowledge and skills. This course is also recommended for family members who are questioning whether their loved ones are still able to safely drive. Please check with your vehicle insurance provider prior to taking the course to ensure they will reduce your insurance rates if you complete the course.
Below is a list of the DC DMV approved courses:
- American Safety Council - DC Defensive Driving Course
- Online Traffic School Inc.- DC Defensive Driving Course
Get Points for Out-of-State Violations Removed
If you are a DC license holder and have received a pointable moving violation in another state or jurisdiction, then you may be eligible to attend traffic school or complete an online defensive driving course to have the points removed from your driving record. Prior approval from the out-of-state court to attend traffic school or complete an online defensive driving course is required before taking the course to have points removed. It should be noted that even with the approval of the out-of-state court, depending on the circumstances of the violation, it is still up to the DC DMV to determine if points can be removed from your record. For out-of-state convictions which transfer to DC DMV as mandatory suspensions/ revocations, you cannot attend traffic school or complete a defensive driving course to prevent the mandatory action from being applied.
There are states/jurisdictions that do not offer traffic school for point removal. Therefore, you must contact the ticket issuing state/jurisdiction for information and procedures for requesting points to be removed for a moving violation. The DC DMV online defensive driving course cannot be utilized to have points removed for out-of-state moving violations.
If approved by the out-of-state traffic court to attend traffic school or complete an online defensive driving course, you must provide DC DMV with the court decision to dismiss points for the violation and also provide proof of your successful completion of traffic school or an online defensive driving course.
"Skip the Trip" to DMV to submit your court decision and course certificate by mail to:
DMV Driver Improvement Office
PO Box 90120
Washington, DC 20090
DMV will notify you that we have received your court disposition and course certification and that your points have been removed. You may also visit any DMV service centers to bring your court disposition and course certification to have points removed for an out-of-state moving violation.