Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Department of Motor Vehicles

DC Agency Top Menu

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Commercial Driver License

DC DMV offers a commercial driver license (CDL) to professional drivers who reside in the District. The DC DMV CDL is a credential that complies with federal identification guidelines and can be used as a federal-level ID. It is valid for 8 years and can be renewed. CDL holders are held to a higher standard when they operate any type of motor vehicle on public roads.

Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) requires a higher level of knowledge, experience, skills, and physical abilities than driving a car or other non-commercial vehicle. To get a DC DMV CDL, you must pass both skills and knowledge testing geared to these higher standards. Additionally, you must take Entry-Level Driver Training by a FMCSA approved training provider for first time Class A and Class B CDL holders; CDL upgrades to Class B and A; and Endorsements S, P and H.

DC DMV groups types of CMVs and provides a DC DMV CDL for these classes of CMV with additional endorsements and restrictions for specific types of vehicles.

To get a DC DMV CDL, you must:

  • Have a valid non-commercial driver license (NCDL).
  • Meet identity, residency, and good driving history eligibility qualifications.
  • Take the applicable CDL knowledge tests.
  • Get a CDL learner permit.
  • Take Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) by an approved FMCSA training provider, if required.
  • Pass the CDL road skills test.

More information on each of the steps and requirements is available at the links below:

CDL Eligibility and Documentation

CDL Knowledge Tests

CDL Learner Permits

CDL Road Skills Tests

CMV Group and CDL Class and Endorsements

Renew a CDL

Convert a CDL from Another State

Replace a CDL

Obtain an Intrastate CDL

CDL Road Skills Test Waiver for Military Personnel

Contact TTY: