dmv

Department of Motor Vehicles
 

DC Agency Top Menu


Starting June 1, 2017, DC DMV began issuing a new driver license and identification card with the same look; however, the jurisdiction will be Washington, DC. All existing credentials are valid until the expiration date.

Starting June 6, 2017, the Inspection Station is operating on Spring/Summer hours.

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

License Reinstatement

DC DMV may suspend or revoke your driver license if you commit certain violations. DC DMV will notify you by mail of the suspension or revocation and let you know what you must do to reinstate your license. Your license will be eligible for reinstatement after you make the necessary payments or complete the necessary hearing, training, or testing steps outlined below.

Please remember that if you drive with a suspended or revoked license, you may be jailed for up to 1 year, and/or pay a fine of up to $5,000.

DC or DC Metropolitan Area Residents

To get your DC DMV driver license reinstated after it has been SUSPENDED, you may be able to pay your reinstatement fee online, or in person at any DC DMV service center. If you are going to pay the reinstatement fee online, please note that DC DMV complies with federal regulations regarding the use of credit cards, so to utilize the online services and pay with a credit card, use browsers with minimum version requirements, such as:

  • Mozilla Firefox 27, released in 2014
  • Safari 7, released in 2013
  • Internet Explorer 11, released in 2013
  • Google Chrome 22, released in 2012
  • iOS 5, released in 2011

The online payment system is available at the link below:

A list of DC DMV service centers is available at the link below:

To get your DC DMV driver license reinstated after it has been REVOKED, you must first attend a reinstatement hearing—in person. To schedule a reinstatement hearing, you can go to the DC DMV Adjudication Services office. Information on Adjudication Services is available at the link below:

You can also mail your request for a reinstatement hearing to:

DC DMV Driver Improvement Office
PO Box 90120
Washington, DC 20090

If it is determined at your hearing that your license can be reinstated, you will have to repeat the steps to obtain a license. That is, you will have to take and pass the knowledge test; get a learner permit; schedule, take, and pass the road skills test; and bring in all the appropriate documents for the type of license you will get—either a REAL ID or a Limited Purpose. The DC DMV REAL ID driver license is a secure, federal ID; the DC DMV Limited Purpose driver license is available to District residents who do not have a Social Security number and cannot establish legal presence in the United States.

More information on all of the steps and requirements for getting a DC DMV driver license is available at the links below:

If your license has been suspended due to an unpaid DC or out-of-state moving violation, it may be reinstated once the violation has been paid, dismissed, or placed on hold due to a payment plan or if you are contesting the ticket violation. 

NOTE:  Other jurisdictions will NOT notify DC DMV when your out-of-state moving violation has been paid or dismissed; therefore, it is your responsibility to provide DC DMV, in a timely manner, with the ticket payment receipt or dismissal court order.  If you receive a pending driver license suspension notification from DC DMV for an out-of-state ticket you already paid or that was dismissed, then you must provide us with the evidence to resolve the pending suspension.  Failure to provide us with the evidence in time will result in your license being suspended, and you will still have to pay a DC reinstatement fee.

If your license has been suspended because you have accumulated points on your driver record, it may be reinstated at the end of your mandatory suspension period.

If your license has been revoked because you have accumulated points on your driver record or a major moving violation, you may apply for reinstatement at the end of your revocation period. You will be required to attend a reinstatement hearing, explained above. 

If your license has been revoked due to an alcohol- or drug-related violation, you will also be required to show, at the reinstatement hearing, proof that you have completed a substance abuse course certified by the District's Department of Behavioral Health.  Information on locating an approved substance abuse course is available as indicated below:

  • To enroll in services, call or visit the DC Department of Behavioral Health Substance Abuse's Assessment and Referral Center (The ARC)

    Hours of Operation: 7am - 6pm
    For same day service, arrive before 3:30pm
    75 P Street NE (enter on Florida Avenue near the P Street intersection)
    Washington, DC 20002
    Telephone (202) 727-8473
    Fax: (202) 727-8411 

When your license is eligible for reinstatement after either suspension or revocation, you must pay the reinstatement fee and clear any other stops on your record (which means pay any unpaid DC parking, photo enforcement, and moving violation tickets; pay any unpaid child support; get vehicle insurance to cover any insurance lapses and pay any fines for the lapse in coverage; and clear any other stops in the National Drivers Registry). Information on the reinstatement fee is available at the link below:

Non-DC Metropolitan Area Residents

If you do not live in the DC metropolitan area, you may submit a written request for reinstatement of your driving privileges when you have cleared any stops on your record (which means you must first pay any unpaid DC parking, photo enforcement, and moving violation tickets; pay any unpaid child support; get vehicle insurance to cover any insurance lapses and pay any fines for the lapse in coverage; and clear any other stops in the National Drivers Registry).

Mail your request for reinstatement and include a check or money order for the reinstatement fee and copies of all applicable documentation, such as ticket receipts, certified counseling programs, letters of clearance, etc., to:

DC DMV Driver Improvement Office
PO Box 90120
Washington, DC 20090

Information on the reinstatement fee is available at the link below:

If your DC DMV driver license was suspended or revoked for an alcohol/drug offense under the authority of the DC Superior Court, or a similar offense in another jurisdiction, you will have to attend, in person, a hearing for reinstatement of your license. To schedule a hearing, please complete the Request for Reinstatement Hearing form available at the link below:

 and mail it to the DC DMV Driver Improvement Office.

You will need to include proof of completion of a state certified alcohol/drug counseling program. Please contact your local Department of Motor Vehicles with assistance in identifying a program in your jurisdiction. 

If it is determined at the hearing that your license may be reinstated, you will have to visit a DC DMV service center and follow the reinstatement procedures outlined in the hearing disposition.

If your DC DMV driver license was suspended due to an unpaid District moving violation, then you may be eligible to reinstate your privileges online. DC DMV will notify you in writing of the requirements for your reinstatement, and the online system will allow you to proceed only if you are eligible. The online payment system is available at the link below:


 

Contact TTY: 
711