Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.


Department of Motor Vehicles

DC Agency Top Menu

-In recognition of the Juneteenth holiday, all DC DMV locations will be closed on Wednesday, June 19. Regular business hours will resume on Thursday, June 20. Many of DC DMV's services will remain available online or via the agency's free mobile app.


-DC DMV will no longer prevent DC residents from applying for a new or renewed driver license because of failing to meet the requirements of the Clean Hands Law.

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Commercial Driver License

DC DMV offers a commercial driver license (CDL) to professional drivers who reside in the District. The DC DMV CDL is a credential that complies with federal identification guidelines and can be used as a federal-level ID. It is valid for 8 years and can be renewed. CDL holders are held to a higher standard when they operate any type of motor vehicle on public roads.

Driving a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) requires a higher level of knowledge, experience, skills, and physical abilities than driving a car or other non-commercial vehicle. To get a DC DMV CDL, you must pass both skills and knowledge testing geared to these higher standards. Additionally, you must take Entry-Level Driver Training by a FMCSA approved training provider for first time Class A and Class B CDL holders; CDL upgrades to Class B and A; and Endorsements S, P and H.

DC DMV groups types of CMVs and provides a DC DMV CDL for these classes of CMV with additional endorsements and restrictions for specific types of vehicles.

To get a DC DMV CDL, you must:

  • Have a valid non-commercial driver license (NCDL).
  • Meet identity, residency, and good driving history eligibility qualifications.
  • Take the applicable CDL knowledge tests.
  • Get a CDL learner permit.
  • Take Entry-Level Driver Training (ELDT) by an approved FMCSA training provider, if required.
  • Pass the CDL road skills test.

More information on each of the steps and requirements is available at the links below:

CDL Eligibility and Documentation

CDL Knowledge Tests

CDL Learner Permits

CDL Road Skills Tests

CMV Group and CDL Class and Endorsements

Renew a CDL

Convert a CDL from Another State

Replace a CDL

Obtain an Intrastate CDL

CDL Road Skills Test Waiver for Military Personnel

Contact TTY: